Wikimedia Internship – First Week

I started my OPW internship at Wikimedia on Wednesday January 2nd. I didn’t have any set plans to start, so I started triaging ‘stale’ bugs. First, what is bug triaging? I didn’t know what it was a month ago, and I’m still figuring it out. MediaWiki’s Bug Management page on Triaging says:

Bug triage refers to assuring quality of bug reports in Wikimedia Bugzilla…. The main job of triagers and the Bugsquad is to help users and developers in Bugzilla. Triaging a bug report involves making sure that the bug report

  • has enough information for developers and makes sense
  • has not already been reported before (checking for duplicates)
  • is filed in the correct place (product and component)
  • has sensible “Severity” and “Priority” fields
  • is versioned correctly

For me, that means asking bug reporters questions to get the information developers need, testing reports to see if I can confirm them or if they’re still viable in newer versions, and judging the a  bug’s priority. Currently I have not had much experience in finding duplicate reports. 

I mentioned earlier that I have been going through ‘stale’ reports. Stale reports are bug reports that are were filed over so many months ago. For example I’ve been looking at reports that are 1 year old. I’ve been looking at old reports because Andre, Wikiemedia’s Bug Wrangler and my mentor, is busy triaging new reports. When I was applying, I offered to work on something that “would be nice to have, but [he] doesn’t have the time to do.” And I’m sticking with that philosophy. I work on the old bug reports because very few people are, and the more I can get people to look at them, or even close them, the better.

Besides triaging bug reports I’ve been reading wiki pages. Lots and lots of wiki pages. I knew next to nothing about the extensions MediaWiki has and almost every time I open a bug report, I have to open up a wiki page to learn about something new. i feel like I’m spending too much time reading about extensions or bug histories (or a number of other things), so I don’t get to work on as many bug reports as I would like. I mentioned this to Andre and my other mentor Quim (he’s also the administrator for Wikimedia’s Outreach Program for Women). Andre said that he sometime’s feels that way, too. I’m glad it isn’t just me. Quim’s advice was to have a concrete goal for any tasks that I undertake. Instead of “triage old bugs,” which is unfocused and difficult to call complete, I could traige 1 year old+ bugs of the Drafts extension. I’m working on implementing that advice.

Overall I’m very excited to be participating in this internship. It’s very engaging, and I’m learning so much about Wikimedia’s numerous projects, MediaWiki (especially MediaWiki) and working on an open source projects. My next post will talk about how I will Be Bold.

3 thoughts on “Wikimedia Internship – First Week

  1. It’s normal to read about a lot of things at the beginning, and combining it with trying out some stuff is the right way to go if you feel like having found out something at the end of the day. :) Thanks for your help!

  2. Hi there! I am doing many of the same things in my first month as Mozilla bugmaster! Reading lots and lots and lots of wiki pages. :D

    Do please join mozillians and others on irc.mozilla.org on the #bugmasters channel if you would like to hang out!

Leave a Reply

