Resources for Learning and Exploring Math and Tech Subjects

Woo, first post! And it’s just going to be a bunch of links!

I may be talking to a group of home-schooled students and encourage them to consider STEM classes and careers, so I’m looking for resources on the ‘net that I can give them. I’m looking for varied sources, so we’ll see how successful I am.

Games

Oh, I should look for college and high school scholarship and internship-type programs. Off the top of my head there’s Google’s Summer of Code and REUs.

I may want to show this awesome presentation by Terri Oda: http://www.slideshare.net/terriko/how-does-biology-explain-the-low-numbers-of-women-in-cs-hint-it-doesnt

That’s all I have for now. I’ll update this post as I find other resources.

EDIT: http://www.marcandangel.com/2010/11/15/12-dozen-places-to-self-educate-yourself-online/ I’ll look at this later.
A blog post with a few overlapping links: http://blog.pamelafox.org/2012/04/learning-to-code-online.html

2 thoughts on “Resources for Learning and Exploring Math and Tech Subjects

  1. Hi valmj–this is a helpful post. Although I’m based in the humanities, I often get students who are seeking encouragement in the STEM fields, but I don’t always know where to point them. Tell me: are these links aimed at a younger set of students, or could college freshmen & sophomores also find them helpful?

    • Hello, and thanks!

      I’m more familiar with the coding resources, so I’ll speak to those first. I think it depends on their familiarity with coding concepts. Code Academy teaches the coding concepts using javascript, so someone not familiar with programming at all can start with that. If they want to get familiar with tech terms as well, I definitely recommend signing up with Skill Crush; I’ve been enjoying the information. Coding Bat doesn’t really _teach_ concepts, but it helps you apply coding concepts to solve the problems presented, so it would be a good resource for someone learning Java or Python, but who already knows the concepts to solve the problems, if that makes sense.

      The ‘Games’ links are all software that allows the user to develop games or animations. Scratch and Alice are geared towards younger users. They don’t use code to program; they use a visual ‘code block’s, so there’s a reduced chance of error. Even though it’s geared towards kids, I think it could be fun and educational for older users who are beginning to program. Greenfoot is a game development program that uses Java (a common programming language) to develop games. There are a lot of resources for these programs, including (self-promotion following) these Greenfoot teaching materials my colleagues and I developed: http://javagonegreen.blogspot.com/p/teaching-materials.html . We looked at XNA, but I’m not as familiar with it as the others. From the links it can be used to develop games and apps for Microsoft.

      Khan Academy is a good education source in general, for many levels, I would say.

      I think LilyPad Arduino would be good for all ages, as well as Adafruit, though I haven’t used their products (I plan to, however).

      I hope that helps! Let me know if I need to clarify anything or if you have anymore questions.

Leave a Reply

